Directory Image
This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Sites for betting say Westbrook for MVP (Sorry James)

Author: Andrew Scott
by Andrew Scott
Posted: May 30, 2017
league history

Sites for betting heavily favor Oklahoma City Thunder point guard Russell Westbrook to win the NBA consolation prize – aka the 2016-17 MVP Award. As for certain Houston Rockets shooting guard, James Harden your heart, swallow your beard. Spurs forward Kawhi Leonard is as distant a third as Harden is a distant second.

Russell Westbrook

The Westbeast became one of only two players in league history to average a triple-double in a single season (31.6 points, 10.7 rebounds, and 10.4 assists per game), the other being Oscar Robertson in 1962. He also broke Big O's record for most triple-doubles in a season with 42. Highlights of Westbrook's season include the first 50-point triple-double since Kareem Abdul-Jabbar had one in 1975, joining Robertson, Magic Johnson, and Jerry Lucas as the only players in league history with two triple-doubles in the first three games of a season, becoming the second player in league history to average a triple-double heading into December, joining Robertson and Wilt Chamberlain as the only players in league history to post 20 triple-doubles in a season, the highest-scoring triple-double in postseason history, joining Chamberlain as the only players to have three straight playoff triple-doubles, and the list goes on and on and on ad nauseam.

James Harden

As established above, sites for betting favor Westbrook to win MVP, but if Harden were to pull the upset he would have Houston head coach Mike D'Antoni to thank for switching him to the point guard position and enabling him to have his best season so far. Harden averaged 29.1 points, 8.1 rebounds, and 11.2 assists per game – leading the NBA in the latter category. While Harden can't touch Westbrook as far as triple doubles go, he did break Hakeem Olajuwon's record for most franchise triple doubles. Furthermore, he became the first player in league history to finish the regular season with at least 2,000 points, 900 assists, and 600 rebounds, as well as the fourth player in league history with at least 40 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists in back-to-back games, joining Pete Maravich, Michael Jordan, and Westbrook. He also passed Yao Ming for sixth place in franchise history when he scored his 10,000th point as a Houston Rocket.

Kawhi Leonard

Leonard became the first player to record 65 points and 10 steals in the first two games of a season since 1979, the first Spur to record three consecutive 30-point games since Tony Parker in 2012, the first San Antonio player to post 950 points in the first half of a season since Tim Duncan in 2003, the first Spurs player to score at least 30 in six consecutive games since Mike Mitchell in 1986, and matched San Antonio's longest double figure-scoring streak. Leonard finished the regular season averaging 25.5 points, 5.8 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.8 steals per game and was selected to the All-NBA First Team for the second time. And that is why he is third favorite at sites for betting to win MVP after Westbrook and Harden.

About the Author

Co-Founder of the best site for sportsbook information.

Rate this Article
Leave a Comment
Author Thumbnail
Please or Join to add a comment.
Author: Andrew Scott
Premium Member

Andrew Scott

United States

Member since: May 30, 2017
Published articles: 1

Related Articles