Your Vehicle Accident In Anchorage, Alaska
Posted: May 19, 2019
Auto Insurance Considerations
Drivers are required to maintain insurance. But what is in your insurance policy matters. As such, it is important to review your policy carefully to know what is and what is not covered, how much coverage you have and what is excluded from coverage. Specifically, in addition to the amount of liability coverage you have, know if you have collision and/or comprehensive coverage and know your deductible. Finally, you must know that any accident that results in death, injury or property damage in excess of $2,000 must be reported to the police.
Insurance coverage in Alaska is governed by Alaska Statute 28.22.01. First, if you do not have the required coverage, for the first time, you will likely face a fine (typically around $500) and a license suspension. If it happens again, there will be more fines and longer suspension. Specifically, you are required to have at least $50,000 per person for an individual’s injury or death; $100,000 per accident for total bodily injury or death; and $25,000 for property damage. If you have to file a claim, be sure to (i) contact your insurance agent immediately—there are usually timeliness issues after which your claims will not be covered, (ii) provide all information in a timely fashion so that your insurance company can protect you, (iii) keep records of all expenses as they may be covered by your policy and (iv) maintain copies of any papers. Taking these steps will assist your insurance company in assisting you.
In addition, having this information will assist The Best Accident Lawyers in prosecuting your claims. Just as the insurance company needs all relevant information in a timely fashion, so do your attorneys. The quicker you provide the facts and supporting documents to your attorney, the faster he or she can start to prosecute your claim, making your recovery a speedier process.
What Your Attorneys Will Cost
Typically, the Best Vehicle Accident Injury Lawyer will work on what is known as a "contingency fee" basis. That is, what the attorney earns is "contingent" on what you recover. Although the most common arrangement is one-third, or 33%, it is not usually quite that simple. As such, it is highly important to not only sign—but to understand—a retainer agreement so that you and your attorney have the same expectations.
Often times, the 33% fee arrangement will change to a higher rate if the case moves past a certain point. For example, if the case goes to trial, attorneys will often receive 40% of the amount you receive. Also, any amounts fronted by the attorneys for court fees and other litigation expenses, such as the cost of obtaining medical records and police reports, court reporter fees, and expert witness fees, will likely be deducted from your award. Any of the above can be negotiated before you sign the retainer agreement. But once it is signed, the rates are set.
Who Is In Charge?
One thing you will not give up is the ultimate decision-making authority in your case. Although the best vehicle accident injury lawyer will advise you as to when to settle and when to "roll the dice," it is your decision. As such, even if your opinions differ (the lawyer wants to hold out for a higher award at trial, but you need the money more quickly), the choice as to whether you settle or not is yours.
In sum, it is crucial vital to hire the best accident lawyers experienced with what it takes to prosecute your car accident claim. Best vehicle accident injury lawyer will give you the best chance to recover monies for your injuries and property damage.
If you want to consult the Best Lawyers In Anchorage, Alaska, the author of this article suggests Crowson Law Group.