How To Recover Google Photos
Posted: Sep 11, 2020
How to recover permanently deleted photos from Google Drive and Google Photos? These two cloud services are safe places to store all the images in your gallery. However, things could take a wrong turn if you accidentally choose the wrong option.
Although, even if you delete a photo album or two by mistake, you can always get it back from the "Trash" folder found within these two apps.
That said, the real question here is: "Can I recover permanently deleted photos from Google Photos (or Google Drive, for that matter)?"
If you have also wondered the same, then you have clicked on the right article, as today we are going to discuss how to recover permanently deleted photos from Google Drive and Google Photos, if possible.
- How to recover permanently deleted photos from Google Drive and Google Photos
- Emptying Google Photos
- How do I delete photos from my phone but not from Google Photos?
How to recover permanently deleted photos from Google Drive and Google Photos
Accidentally deleting your photos is one thing, but deleting them permanently can get you in a world of trouble. Although there is no way to recover your data directly from the Google Drive or Google Photos app, the Google Drive specialists can really help.
If you have a GSuite account, all your permanently deleted photos, videos, and other files can be recovered from your work or school administrator account within 25 days. However, after that period has elapsed, your data will likely be completely lost and unrecoverable.
As for regular Google Drive and Google Photos users, they are even less likely to get their permanently deleted data back, as servers don't store that data for long.
In addition, there is another condition for the users who make the recovery request: they must be the owners of the files or folders. In case you are the owner of your photos and have only permanently deleted them very recently (we're talking, no more than 24 hours), you can try your luck and contact a Google Drive specialist here.
Empty Google Photos
There may also be cases where you have accidentally backed up all your photos to your Google Photos account. In case you don't really need a backup, it's a good idea to empty your Google Photos account.
However, if thousands of images have accumulated in there over the years, it can take hours to delete the photos one by one, which might lead you to wonder for an easier way. If that's the case, you're in luck, as we'll tell you how to delete all photos from Google Photos.
Despite the fact that Google has not provided a function to delete all your photos at once, there are still many solutions that you can find on the Internet. Having said that, we will tell you which one has worked best for us:
- To get started, you need to open your Google Photos account on your computer;
- Then you need to select the first image by clicking on the check mark on its upper left side;
- Then scroll down as far as you can until you reach the last photo on your account;
- Now select that photo while holding down the "Shift" key on your keyboard and click on the "Trash" icon at the top right of the page.
With this, all your photos and videos should be moved to the Trash folder, where you can choose to "Empty Trash" to permanently delete all your files.
How do I delete photos from my phone but not from Google Photos?
Can you delete photos from the camera roll but keep them in the album? That is another very frequently asked question. Well, the answer is simple: you definitely can. There is a special function known as "Free up space" that you can find in the menu of your Google Photos application.
What this feature does is basically delete all the photos and videos from your device that have already been backed up to your Google Photos account. However, this is only a viable option if you plan to delete all the backed up images from your phone.
On the other hand, if you only want to delete a handful of images, you will have to take another route.
- First, you must select all the images you want to delete;
- Then, you must open the menu by pressing the 3-dot button located at the top right;
- In the menu, find the option "Delete copy from device" and press it.
Once you are done with that, the selected images should be removed from your local storage, but they will still be available in your Google Photos account.
ChangeBooking.com is not associated with any Airlines directly, we are third party reservations providers and our motto is to provide travel hacks to passengers on the basis of user's reviews and feedback.