Directory Image
This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

The Major Difference Between Different Grades of Matcha Tea

Author: Ranny Watson
by Ranny Watson
Posted: Mar 24, 2021

Matcha tea has been gaining popularity in the current world; however, it has been popular in the East for quite some time, even centuries. Today it is becoming one of the most favorite drinks of most people in the West as well. Despite how much the world loves it, they don't quite understand much about matcha tea itself and about the different grades of maturity available in the world. In fact, They just view it as another variation to the Japanese green tea, and the truth is far from it.

Consuming matcha tea is at least ten times more nutritional value than any regular green tea, and it is known to have about 16 times more antioxidants than the contents of blueberries. In fact, the different grades of matcha tea have a league on their own. Typically it is divided on the basis of different grades, namely, the culinary great, the premium grade, and the ceremonial great.

The grading system is quite misleading as both the culinary and premium grade matcha tea are not exactly lower quality than a ceremonial grade. All of these are, in fact, high-quality matcha. However, they are just produced and grown differently in order to suit best their different purposes.

One thing to remember, however, is that you must not mix two different grades of high-quality matcha tea, as you may end up diluting the effects and taste to form a concoction that may not suit best the purpose.

Here are the significant differences between the different grades of the matcha tea:

Ceremonial Grade Matcha Tea

Firstly you can buy matcha powder online or in stores, but all you have to do is ask for the right grade of matcha tea you require. The ceremonial grade matcha tea is the purest form of matcha found. It has an earthy flavor that comes through with each sip of the tea. In fact, you could skip using additives such as milk, sugar, and sweeteners. It is, however, not so ideal for the purpose of baking or cooking as the strong flavors could overpower the entire mix. It has an amazing nutrition profile and a sweet aftertaste. It is also one of the only teas that can be used in Chanoyu or Japanese tea ceremonies.

Premium Grade Matcha Tea

Officially, premium-grade matcha tea isn't an official category in the matcha tea grading system; however, it proves very useful. It does have the same sweet flavor of ceremonial grade matcha but isn't as strong flavored or bitter as the culinary variant. It is very palatable, and it is for those who want to enjoy matcha tea on a regular basis, as it is budget-friendly. They can be flavored with syrups such as hazelnut, vanilla, honey, milk, cinnamon, and lemon juice. They can also be blended in with juices and smoothies or sprinkled on porridge.

Culinary Grade Matcha Tea

This is the cooking-grade matcha tea that is often known as low-quality matcha; however, it is not so. The culinary-grade matcha tea can also be drunk just as ceremonial-grade matcha teas. They are easily mixed with other flavoring agents and ingredients as they are strongly flavored and far more bitter than the previously mentioned two grades of matcha tea. It needs to be thoroughly sweetened in order to cut its sharp taste. They are best used for baking items such as dark chocolate truffles, flapjacks, breakfast muffins, and other such items that you may want to make more nutritious.

About the Author

My name is Ranny Watson. I'm a professional Digital Marketing Expert.

Rate this Article
Leave a Comment
Author Thumbnail
I Agree:
Author: Ranny Watson
Professional Member

Ranny Watson

Member since: Dec 01, 2015
Published articles: 122

Related Articles